Kaduna State, Nigeria Historic Local Government Election Results

The recently conducted Local Government Election in Kaduna State, Nigeria was historic because it was the first time Electronic Voting System would be used in the conduct of elections in Nigeria. The process and the technology gave a good account of itself because it produced a fair and credible result with the opposition Peoples Democratic Party PDP winning some seats in the election contrary to the norm in Nigeria elections while the ruling All Progressive Congress APC won majority of the seats.
According to the chairperson of the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission Saratu Dikko the results of the just concluded Local Government Election in Kaduna State are as follows:
APC won in 14 Local Government Areas of Birnin-Gwari, Giwa, Igabi, Ikara, Kaduna North, Sabon-Gari, Kagarko, Kubau, Kudan, Lere, Makarfi, Sanga, Soba and Zaria, 
PDP won in 4 Local Government Areas of Jema’a, Kachia, Kauru and Zango-Kataf.
Elections were rescheduled  to hold in  Kaura, Jaba and Kajuru local governments on June 2, 2018.
Kaduna State, Northwest Nigeria was the first state in Nigeria to adopt the Electronic Voting System in the conduct of elections.
Electronic Voting Machine
In the same manner, the Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission KSIEC went ahead of Nigeria's Independent National Electoral Commission INEC to emerge the first Electoral Umpire in Nigeria to conduct elections using Electronic Voting.
Map of Nigeria showing Kaduna State
Kaduna State Indepent Electoral Commission KSIEC used the Electronic Voting System in the conduct of the 2018 Kaduna State Local Government Elections on May 12, 2018.
The Election recorded success and was adjudged credible although Elections were cancelled in 4 Local Government Areas due the security issues.

No comments:

Post a Comment